Teaching English Part 2

I’m pretty sure there are people who think I’m not really working or that it’s not a “real job”. Yes, I received more vacation days than a college student, but it is not all ‘ups’. Sometimes the job could be ‘easy’, but it all depends on the person doing the job. If they are not serious, they probably wouldn’t put as much time into planning. If they are serious, they would put more effort into it. If you’re like me, you find a balance. Some days, I spend over 5 hours preparing for a lesson, and sometimes, I only spend 2. Like I said, it all depends.

The biggest struggle with being a teacher for me is that everything is blocked: Google, YouTube, a lot of sites that appear in search engines, and more. However, I knew that I had to get a VPN before coming here, though that does not always work either. Some days, it is very frustrating when neither the VPN nor the Internet works, and it is a real struggle. The days that it does work, I usually cannot find what I am looking for because of YouTube’s new policies and the content that they have deleted. When I do find what I’m looking for, I cannot find it with captions. (I like the captions for when people talk too fast in the videos.) It can be very challenging sometimes, but on some occasions the students surprise me, and they can answer some of my questions as we talk about the videos. Sometimes, they don’t even know that they know the answers, but with some guidance, they prove it to themselves that they do, and it makes them (and me) very happy. I always feel that my job is to help them gain that confidence 😊

Leave a Reply

