Teaching English in China- Part 1

This is probably the post most people want to know about, especially if they are thinking of doing it. I am not the person to ask, though, if you should do it. Why? Because it takes a certain mentality to do it. I f you are up for a challenge, then go for it.

If you ever asked me in high school if I wanted to be a teacher, I would have said, “Of course not!” If you would have asked in college, I would have said, “You’re joking, right? Of course not!” Yet, here I am, teaching English, straight out of college.

If you do not know, I teach 10th and 11th graders. I had no idea what to expect. I did all of this training (which had to be completed in less than 2 weeks), then I had to take a test, then had to complete the second half in a week-long orientation. According to my program, it was all towards a 120-hour TEFL certificate, which now hangs proudly on my wall.

In the next posts, I will tell you more about my experiences, so think of this more as an introduction to the life of teaching or being a foreign teacher (also called a waijiao 外教) in China

Leave a Reply

